What’s in the fridge pizza

I was craving for pizza yesterday after a week of mostly salads. Decided to bake on what I had in the fridge and the kitchen cupboard.

Decided to bake a pizza and use whatever I had in the fridge and the kitchen cupboards as topping. A well-stocked pantry is plentiful, of course. I do not exactly have a pantry and my kitchen is more of a kitchenette but it comes with everything I need. Everything is within a hand’s reach. I do not have a microwave oven, mind you, because I simply don’t need it.

Well, what did I find then? Ingredients for my favourite pizza dough: dried yeast, durum flower, salt and olive oil. The durum wheat i.e. semolina gives the dough a good elasticity and a lovely golden colour in baking. And something for the topping:  garlic, onion, tomato puree, more olive oil, salami Milanese, cured ham, leaf parsley, a couple of cherry tomatoes and olives.

The easiest and best ever pizza dough recipe comes here and it makes two pizza bases. Baking the pizzas will take approx. an hour.

2.5 dl water

2 tsp dried yeast

2 tbsp olive oil

5 dl durum wheat flour (semolina)

  1. Preheat the oven to 225 C / 440 F if you plan to bake the pizzas immediately.
  2. Mix the yeast into a small amount of flour and whisk it into the lukewarm water.
  3. Add some salt depending of the topping.
  4. Add most of the flour little by little. Add the olive oil toward the end and work the dough by hand until it is smooth and does not stick to your fingers.
  5. Roll the dough out into two pizza bases. Do it immediately or let the dough stay put in the fridge until it is time for eating.
  6. Put the bases on baking sheets covered with baking paper.
  7. Add the toppings.
  8. Bake the pizzas 12 – 15 minutes in 250 C until they are golden brown and crispy.

Topping
It is easiest to do the filling if the bases are already on the baking sheets.
Squeeze 2-3 tbsp of tomato puree on the pizza and 1-2 tbsp olive oil. Spread then on the bases evenly with a cake spreader. I stopped cooking tomato sauce for pizzas long time ago. This simple ‘sauce’ is delicious but of course you need to have top quality puree and olive oil.
Add toppings to your taste. I added thinly sliced tomatoes and cold cuts (only 4-5 slices per pizza), olives, thinly sliced onions and one garlic glove per pizza. Then I added parsley but very sparsely. Finally I grated some 1 ½ – 2 dl Parmesan cheese on each pizza. I prefer my Parmesan in big chunks and preferably from a cheese store or the market’s cheese counter.

You can use rocket instead of parley and add it towards the end of the baking. Some people think that cured ham is spoilt in the oven but I don’t. If I use large cured ham slices (prosciutto or jamon), I put them on the pizza towards the end of the baking.

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “What’s in the fridge pizza

  1. A lovely sounding pizza – I love making pizza out of what one has left. looks delicious.