My Favourite Girl’s Favourite Mud Cake

11 May 2012

This year I’m baking mud cake for Mothers’ Day. In Finland we have Mothers’ Day on the second Sunday of May. I know some of you have already had the day in your country. I’ve just decorated the cake and will take it to Mum’s this afternoon. It is Saturday and tomorrow we’re off to my mother-in-law’s with another chocolate cake.

The cake is my niece’s (and god-daughter’s) favourite. She’s baked it as long as I remember. Well, she’s only 18 so it can’t be for that many years. We can easily eat up the whole cake at an afternoon coffee at my sister’s. This year my niece is discovering the world in Spain, and doing her exchange year. I miss and already really look forward to these Saturday afternoons of ‘quality time’ with my favourite girl. I cannot make the cake as gooey as it should be. It seems to dry a bit and it’s not that sticky and soft. This is why I decided to make a topping, hope it adds some moisture.

This is what you need for a small mud cake

100 g butter
2 eggs (ecological/free range)

1 dl sugar
1 dl all-purpose flour
¾ dl cocoa powder
1 tsp vanilla sugar or a drop of vanilla extract

   

1. Melt the butter. Brush and flour a cake dish that is 20 – 22 cm in diameter.
2. Pre-heat the oven to 175 C.
3. Beat the eggs and sugar until fluffy. Add the butter that has cooled a bit.
4. Mix the flour, vanilla sugar and the sieved cocoa powder and add to the mixture little by little.
5. Bake for 20 – 23 minutes.

Topping

50 g butter
½ dl double cream
3 tbsp cocoa powder
1 ½ dl castor sugar fresh berries

1. Measure the butter and cream into a pan. Heat them up until the butter has dissolved.
2. Add the cocoa and the castor sugar. Mix vigorously until smooth.
3. Pour over the cake. You can pour it over the cake when it is still warm.
4. Decorate with berries.

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “My Favourite Girl’s Favourite Mud Cake

  1. Oh my, that looks unhealthy and decadent :D. Oh well, it must taste AMAZING.