Chili con Carne on a Hot Day

They way that hot and spicy food helps tolerate heat and cope with hot weather just like hot drinks. I come to think about hot Turkish mint tea and spicy dishes of the far east. The spices might  of course serve other functions like garlic being antiseptic.

I learnt to like Chili con Carne during my exchange year in the States in the 80’s. As a student and after turning vegetarian I tried different version of vegetarian chile and called them Chili sin Carne. Now I am back to being a carnivore and enjoy it with meat. This recipe is something I’ve come up with after trying out different recipes. I like to use real spices instead of mixes and prefer using dried beans but do not always have time or patience for the soaking and cooking. I sometimes soak and boil a larger amount at a time and them freeze the beans in 2 or 3 dl dozes.

This is what you need for four hungry eaters:

400 g minced meat, beef and pork (I like a mixture, the pork gives nicely fat to the chili)
2 onions
1 garlic clove
2 tbsp olive oil
2 bell peppers
2 carrots
1 can of crushed tomatoes
3 dl beans, white or kidney or a can of white beans in tomato sauce
1/2 red chili
2-3 tsp paprika powder
2 tsp ground cummin
2 bay leaves
4 cloves
2 dl beef stock

1. Dice the onion and carrot. Sauté them in olive oil. Add the meat and brown it.
2. Dice the peppers and add them into the pot with the crushed tomatoes.
3. Mix in all the spices except the chili. Let simmer for 15 minutes.
4. Add the beans and chili and let simmer for another 15 minutes.
Serve with white bread.

20120730-221708.jpg

Comments Off on Chili con Carne on a Hot Day

Filed under Dinner, Recipes

Comments are closed.