Roasted Zucchini Spaghetti and Zucchini Bread

Zucchini is one of my favourite veggies. It is in season in Finland right now and also at its best. I got a big bag of it in the market and decided to bake a bread and make roasted zucchini spaghetti.

20120817-105520.jpg
The bread recipe comes form another website. You can search for Paula Deen’s recipe (Zucchini Bread) at www.foodnetwork.com. The bread turned out delicious – zucchini, cinnamon, nutmeg and pecans. I baked one loaf with half the recipe. To me the bread is more of a cake than a bread but my husband ate it happily with a tick layer of butter. Icing would’ve been more to my taste.

The spaghetti is my own recipe. I cut the zucchini into thin slices with a cheese cutter but a good knife or a ‘mandolin’ would do just as well. Then I cut the slices in two or three in the middle to make them look like spaghetti or tagliatelle. The next step is to put the slices into a bowl and pour oil (1/2 dl) and lemon juice (2 tbsp) in it. Then I add a cup of chopped parsley and grind black pepper and salt on the zucchini. I let them stand for an hour and then place them in an oven pan covered with paper. I bake (roast) them for 20 minutes on the top-level in 200 C. Then I add 1 dl of grated Parmesan and cook for an additional 10 minutes. The swirls are good as a side dish with meat, chicken or fish. We had it with the chicken pot (see my blog on 30 May). We just love this spaghetti and so did our Italian house guest. It is so lovely to see her go for seconds at the dinner table. You see, I had been rather anxious to see how an Italian young lady would like my cooking.

The rest I decided to freeze for the winter. I cut them into small pieces and steam cooked for about 5 minutes. I do it with an ordinary pan. I just have water in the bottom and let it boil. The I add the zucchini and let simmer for 5 minutes. Then it’s time to drain the zucchini and let it cool properly. I freeze them in plastic bags in portion sizes and add to spaghetti sauce and make a delicious creamy soup with cheese and basil. I’ll write the recipe the next time when I make it.

20120817-105529.jpg 20120817-105537.jpg 20120817-105548.jpg

 

 

20120823-090307.jpg

20120823-090316.jpg

Comments Off on Roasted Zucchini Spaghetti and Zucchini Bread

Filed under Dinner, Lunch, Recipes

Comments are closed.