Energy for the Day

20121114-092356.jpg

The darkness and cold weather are starting to get to me even though it is only mid November. It’ll be quite a lot darker later on in the year. I find myself sleeping a lot more than usual but know that it is also because I’ve learnt to sleep more this year. I’m thankful that I no longer have those to bed after midnight and up at six days and cannot-go-to-sleep nights. Today I got up at 8:30 which is really late for me.

This energizing drink helps me get going and it is also good as elevenses instead of coffee and cake. I started making this for our exchange student this summer and now I make it almost every morning for myself. The recipe comes from Nigella Lawson. I no longer measure the ingredients but you can this go get ’em recipe at her page.

This is what you need for one drink:
1 banana
half a glass of milk (skimmed, semi-skimmed or whole milk, whichever you prefer)
2-3 tsp hot chocolate drink mix
1 tsp instant espresso powder
1 tsp honey
Put everything in a blender or a bar mixer and turn the mixer on.
I use our Hamilton Beach which gives a ‘nice’ roaring sound. I can be sure that everyone is awake after mixing the drink.

Good morning to you all!

 

Comments Off on Energy for the Day

Filed under Breakfast, Recipes

Comments are closed.