What’s-in-the-cupboard Breakfast Cake

20130124-222835.jpg

This is a spur of the moment, “what’s in the cupboard I’m craving for a cake” cake. I’ve been meaning to bake for long but have not really gotten around it. I bought these lovely horse-shaped cake tins at IKEA before Christmas and had not used them. The tins are of the same form as a traditional wooden horse typical for Dalarna, a province in central Sweden.

The inspiration came this morning and I decided to bake a cake. This is the second time this year I started the day with first cooking a pot of espresso and then baking a cake. Is this serious? Does this happen to anyone else?

The tins are thinner and take only 1 litre of liquid together and this is why I had to use my head a bit more and figure out the measures. This is what I ended up with.

2 eggs and 140 g caster sugar
80 g butter
2/3 dl full milk
140 g flour, 1 tsp baking powder, 3 tsp cinnamon, 3 tsp poppy seeds, 3 tsp cardamom, 2 tbsp orange rind

Beat the eggs and the sugar.
Melt the butter and the milk. Pour it in with the Beaten eggs.
Mix all the dry ingredients and turn into the cake batter.
Grease the cake tin(s) and pour the batter in. Bake in 175 C for about 25 minutes.

20130124-222825.jpg

Comments Off on What’s-in-the-cupboard Breakfast Cake

Filed under Baking, Breakfast, Recipes

Comments are closed.