Jansson’s Temptation

I find myself busy these days and natural reason is that I’m back to work. It would be ideal to plan the week’s meals ahead and do the groceries once a week. I’m trying it out this week and you can read in a week if I succeeded to make do with the shopping I did today. And the planning.
My menu planning started today and I cooked Salmon in Hot Company (see the recipe dated 17 June). Rest of the meals for the week are peas soup and buns with whipped cream and marzipan (a Finnish seasonal speciality), pork rolls filled with Parmesan and apricots and a soup of sweet potatoes. In case we don’t feel like all the soup, I have in stock ingredients for home-made gnocchi with Gorgonzola.

Now to the topic, Jansson’s Temptation. We are off partying tonight and will very likely at some point eat a popular evening meal or should I call it a late night snack. The dish is a creamy gratin of potatoes and anchovies. It is an old and traditional home-made food very 60’s. One tale tells that Janzon was a Swedish opera singer (1844-1899) who would serve beer, vodka and this gratin at his parties.

Beware, this is no diet food but really delicious as a late night meal or snack. Fabulous for the following day (i.e. after the party).

Jansson’s is one of the first dishes I learnt to make and it is still one of my favourites. I think this is the first time I’m writing down the recipe.

This is what you need for 4 portions:

10 large potatoes
1 onion
1 can of anchovies with brine
2 dl double cream
bread crumbs, butter

1. Pre-heat the oven to 175 C.
2. Peel the potatoes and cut them into thin strips (smaller than French fries). I use my kitchen-aid for this. Rinse the potatoes in a colander and dry them with a kitchen towel (real tea towel). This way you will reduce the amount of starch.

20130209-154520.jpg3 Mince the onion and mix with the potatoes.

4. Grease an oven pan and place half of the potato mixture in it. Add the anchovies and the rest of the potato mix.
5. Mix the double cram and the anchovy brine, and pour it over the dish. Put some butter shavings on top and sprinkle with bread crumbs.

6. Bake for an hour or until golden brown. Serve with lingon berries.

20130209-154503.jpg

Comments Off on Jansson’s Temptation

Filed under Dinner, Recipes

Comments are closed.