My New Hometown: Best Gravy for Roast Beef

20130506-090340.jpg

The first full weekend in the new town is over. What a long weekend it was! No rushing anywhere but nice walks, jogging, a bit of work in the garden and cooking.

The best thing about the weekend is sparrows! Yes, they have arrived. The cry made my day on Saturday. We keep records on their arrival and this year they are really early. It is usually around 20 May they arrive but our coordinates have changed and it looks like the spring is arriving earlier!

On Sunday morning I decided to go jogging and discover some more of the neighbourhood. I also wanted to see if I remembered any of the routes I’d run some twenty years ago. That is when I first stayed here for a longer period. Sunday morning was cloudy and there was a note of rain in the air. The town seemed to be sleeping – two cars, one person cycling and two walking their dogs were all I met in the streets. Unbelievable! I had to check the time to see if it really was past nine. Once I got to the forest with maintained walking and jogging paths I would see more people. It was then I also felt more like home.

Our Saturday dinner was more or less leftovers. The roast beef my husband cooked for May Day was a huge chunk of meat, and we enjoyed it long. I am not much of a sauce or gravy cooker so I decided to give it a try. Learning how to make different types of sauces might just be my next goal in cooking.

This was our dinner: crostini with goat cheese (chevre) and cherry tomatoes, roasted vegetables, roast beef with apple gravy and salad.

Crostini
Cut 2 cm thick slices of a day or two old baguette. Mix a tablespoon of olive oil and tomato paste and put on the bread slices. Cover with a slice of chèvre and top with a halved cherry tomatoes. Roast in 200 C for 10 minutes.

Roasted Vegetables
5 potatoes, carrots and 1 onion, thyme, rosemary, salt and black pepper.
Clean and cut the vegetables into thin slices. Put them in an oven pan or a baking sheet covered with paper. Season and cook in 200 C for 30-45 minutes. You do not need any oil!

Roast beef: see the recipe 1 May.

Apple gravy – the best ever
One apple (peeled and diced), olive oil, 1 dl double cream, 2 tsp rosemary, 1/2 tbsp beef stock fond, 1- 2 dl juices from the roast beef.
Sauté the diced apple in olive oil for 5 minutes. Add some rosemary, cream and the beef juice, let simmer for 15 minutes. Taste and add some beef stock if needed. Dilute with a dash of water or more cream it the gravy has become too thick.
Serve the gravy on cold slices of roast beef.

20130506-090325.jpg

20130506-090333.jpg

Comments Off on My New Hometown: Best Gravy for Roast Beef

Filed under Dinner, Miscellaneous on travelling, cooking and life in general, Recipes

Comments are closed.