Leila’s Gluten Free Mud Cake

Almost everyone loves mud cake and I know only one person who does not. Guess who it is? My husband! I adore almost anything with chocolate but understandable I have not yet tried many mud cake recipes. My favourite girl’s favourite chocolate cake –cake resembles it and now I just had to try this gluten free recipe.Guess what? My husband loves this cake!

The recipe is by one of the most popular Swedish baking and TV cooks Leila Lindholm and from her recent book The fresh foodie. I found the recipe on ELLE mat & vin (4-5/15) featuring an article and a whole menu of summer recipes by Leila.

This cake is very healthy and delicious – I followed the recipe almost to the point.

Ingredients:


2 dl almond flour, 4 tbsp cocoa powder, 2 pinches of salt, 250 g dried apricot, 2 bananas, 1 tbsp honey,
3 eggs, 2 tbsp coconut oil and coconut flakes

Pre-heat the oven to 175 C.
Mix together the dry ingredients.
Mix the apricot, banana and honey in a kitchen aid. Add the eggs one at the time and mix.
Pour in the dry ingredients and let the kitchen aid work slowly. In the end add the coconut oil.
Use some of the oil to grease an oven pan with a removable bottom and sprinkle the form with coconut flakes.
Pour in the batter and cook for 15 – 20 minutes.


Let cool and serve with berries, fruit, yoghurt, whipped cream or ice cream.

You can find Leila on the Internet at Leila Lindholm  and on Leilas blogg.

She also has a general store – online and with actual shops. I visited the one in Gothenburg in May. The store was full of pastel coloured enamel kitchen ware on sale. It was difficult to choose what to take home and hence I decided to return another day which I never did. A good reason to return to Gothenburg!

Comments Off on Leila’s Gluten Free Mud Cake

Filed under Baking, Recipes

Comments are closed.